On the spot with J.U.L

Last month, the Just-Us League, a collection of local artists who create live art at live events, held a fundraiser for the earthquake/tsunami victims in Japan.  I wasn’t involved with the fundraiser at all.  I came in at the tail-end of the night, looking around at the art left (donations from locals, and a couple of famous people), carefully not bidding on anything because I didn’t have any money.  As usual, there was a large canvas for everyone to add their art, this time extended to all the event volunteers, as well as the attendees. In the spirit of the J.U.L.’s live art vibe, this, too was an on-the-spot creation.  I penned this at the last possible moment, Jerod patiently waiting for me to finish, as he was trying to pack up everything. It’s a little off–muddied, cluttered with repetition, in dire need of a good edit–but it’s there.  Also, please excuse the crappy-ness of the pic itself, as I only had my woefully inadequate 2.0 MP camera phone on me, and I absolutely suck at photo editing.

I also drew a few leaf/branch things right above it, but I didn’t think to get a picture of that.  This banner is currently in the possession of the Japan-America Society of DFW; maybe I’ll go by there one day and get one.

About The Drunken Spinster

Aspiring writer. Lazy Bum. Shameless self-promoter. Sneaker pimp. View all posts by The Drunken Spinster

Leave a Reply

