A happy goth

http://www.flickr.com/photos/37374589@N02/4477976378/

“Her clothes are blacker than the blackest cloth, and her face is whiter than the snows of Hoth, she wears Dr. Martens and a heavy cross, but on the inside she’s a happy goth.”

– Neil Hannon

I love black and dressing in black.  I like the dramaticism of fancy dress. But I could never make myself take it this seriously.  There’s a point where my brain says “that’s too much”.  This, to me, is too much for the everyday.  But cosplay?  Oh, yes, please.

On a side note, I really want to do Daft Punk for this Halloween, but doubt I’ll be able to pull it off.  My costuming skills are sub-par, and I know nothing about circuitry.  I’m such a pretentious fuck that “good costume”, in my book, equals “scary in-depth masterlike authenticity”. Observe.

This is Jia Jem, a prominent Chicago cosplayer, doing Chika from Junko Mizuno’s Miznotic Fantasy (I think; I’ve never actually read it):

http://www.jiajem.com/galleries/chika/pop/popchika1.html

This is me, trying to recreate her costume.  Suffice to say, I failed miserably, and had to make certain, um, concessions:

http://jmcclurephotography.zenfolio.com/p953715830/h9ad1ee3#h9ad1ee3

See the resemblance?  Neither do I.  This, dear readers, is what happens when I try to make costumes, or blogs, or anything, really. Well-intentioned–but ultimately poseuristic–shit.

About The Drunken Spinster

Aspiring writer. Lazy Bum. Shameless self-promoter. Sneaker pimp. View all posts by The Drunken Spinster

Leave a Reply

